Skip to content
We are sorry but the page you are looking for is not available in the language you have selected, please go to the corresponding homepage
  1. Home
  2. Community

Cash Working Groups

A directory of cash working groups from around the globe organised by region.

A Cash Working Group (or Basic Needs Working Group in some responses) is a forum which facilitates the coordination of cash and voucher assistance within a humanitarian response. Functions of Cash Working Groups (CWGs) can include coordinating on issues such as transfer values, targeting, delivery mechanisms, MEB development, and harmonizing tools and guidance.  CWGs might be established at both national and regional levels depending on the scope and scale of a response.

Cash Working Group – Regional/Global Focus

Americas Cash Working Groups

US & Canada

Holly Radice, holly.radice@calpnetwork.org

Steering Committee Members:

Benjamin Phillips, BPhillips@ChildFund.org

Qundeel Khattak, qkhattak@savechildren.org

Darin Ottenhoff, dottenhoff@mercycorps.org

Cash Working Group-R4V

Web page: https://www.r4v.info/

Contact: cbi.rwg@gmail.com

Frequently asked questions

 

Latin America and the Caribbean CWG Leads’ meetings

Actas de reunión de líderes de GTM de las Américas

The regional CWG Leads meet every two months to share updates and discuss common thematic issues. (Invitation only)

 

Asia-Pacific Regional Cash Working Group

The Asia-Pacific Regional Cash Working Group is supported by a co-chairing arrangement between WFP, IFRC and OCHA.

Contact information

Daniel Gilman
gilmand@un.org

Mulugeta HANDINO
mulugeta.handino@wfp.org

Vlad Cozma
vlad.cozma@wfp.org

Additional information

East Africa Regional Cash Working Group

The Chair is Sapenzie Ojiambo,sapenzie.ojiambo@calpnetwork.org. The two Co-Chairs are Sahara Ibrahim, Sahara.Ibrahim@care.org and Hiba AbouSwaid, hiba.abouswaid@wfp.org

Global Cash Working Group

The Global Cash Working Group (GCWG) is a platform for actors to collaborate and address key issues related to cash and voucher assistance (CVA). The GCWG seeks to link global cash initiatives and actors more systematically with evidence from and best practice in the field and the broader humanitarian system. 

MENA Regional Technical Forum

  • The platform focuses on sharing information and other key developments, including pieces of work and learnings from the MENA region.
  • In addition, four communities of practice focused on localization, MPC, social protection linkages, and health convene online to share learnings and develop common tools, or guidance notes.

Pacific Regional Cash Working Group (PRCWG)

The PRCWG seeks to strengthen collaboration on CVA in both disaster preparedness and response, as well as financial access & inclusion, social protection and other economic inclusion and/or market-based programming involving the transfer of cash or voucher payments to households.

West and Central Africa Regional Cash Working Group

Contacts

All the WCAF regional Cash Working Group minutes and recordings are available here

Cash Working Group – Country Focus

Afghanistan Cash Working Group

Contact information

George Bete, george.bete@wfp.org.

Additional information

Brazil

Central African Republic

Serge Arnaud Beremwoudougou WFP serge.beremwoudougou@wfp.org
Valerie Van Zutphen CONCERN Valerie.Zutphen@concern.net
Claude Meuga OCHA meuga@un.org
Ndo-Neting Zaboua Sogboua OCHA zabouasogboua@un.org

 

Chad

Colombia

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Contacts

Rickain Kalanda Lubo, OCHA, kalanda@un.org

Dominican Republic*

Ecuador

Egypt Basic Needs Working Group

CWG Lead: Alma Dozic
Contact: DOZIC@unhcr.org

 

Click the link below for more information

El Salvador

Henry Montano, Lead:
henry.montano@wfp.org

Cristina Galvez, Lead:
cristina.galvez@wfp.org

Brenda Liliana de Cid, Co-lead:
brenda.delcid@savethechildren.org

Ludin Chavez, co-lead
Ludin.Chavez@savethechildren.org

 

Ethiopia

Chair of the Ethiopian CWG: Tawil Ahmed Adel
atawil@iom.int

Co-Chair: Serkalem Getachew
serkalem.getachew@care.org

Co-Chair: Samson Muradzikwa
smuradzikwa@unicef.org  

Greece Cash Working Group

Click the link below for more information

Guatemala

Honduras

Enoc Murillo, Co-lead:
emurilloh@ca.acfspain.org

Claudia Torres, Co-lead:
claudia.torres@crs.org

Indonesia Cash Working Group

Contact information

moektijasih@un.org

Website:

https://www.humanitarianresponse.info/en/operations/indonesia/cash-working-group

Iraq Cash Working Group

CWG Lead: Mireia Termes
Contact: mireia.termes@wfp.org

CWG Co-Lead: Majid Shah
Contact: mashah@mercycorps.org

Click the link below for more information

Jordan BNWG and CCF

Common Cash Facility Co-chair: Heba Azaizeh
Contact: azaizeh@unhcr.org

Basic Needs Working Group Co-chair: Veena Krishnamoorthy
Contact: krishnam@unhcr.org

Click the link below for more information

Kenya

Kenya Cash Working Group

Chair:

Co-Chair: Peter Murgor, Kenya Red Cross Society,      murgor.peter@redcross.or.ke

Laos Cash Working Group

Contact information

Dale Wilson
dale.Wilson@wfp.org

Lebanon Basic Assistance Working Group

CWG Lead: Ruba Cheaib
Contact: cheaib@unhcr.org

 

Click the link below for more information

Libya Cash Working Group

CWG Lead: Mauro Clerici
Contact: clericim@unhcr.org

Libya Cash Working Group is based in Tunisia.

Click the link below for more information

Madagascar

The government co-leads are Bruno Emmanuel Randriaharihaja,be.randriaharihaja@outlook.com and Solofonirina Landry. The co-chairs are Elena Celada, ecelada@unicef.org and Solofonirina Claudia Rakotoarison,srakotoarison@unicef.org

Malawi

The co-chair of the Malawi Cash Working Group is Kennedy Nyirenda kennedy.nyirenda@concern.net

Mauritania

Contacts

 

Nouakchott Fatimetou LAHWERTHI PAM fatimetou.lahwerthi@wfp.org
Moulaye Hassen Zeidane MEF moulayehz@gmail.com

México

Abraham Gonzalez, Co-lead:
abgonzalez@iom.int

Moldova

Co-chair: Ministry of Labour and Social Protection

and

Hanna Mattinen, mattinen@unhcr.org.

Mozambique

The co-chairs are Chiara Dara, WFP, chiara.dara@wfp.org (and Sanna Juntunen, WFP, sanna.juntunen@wfp.org, until August 2021) and Angelo Pontes, World Vision, angelo_pontes@wvi.org.

Myanmar Cash Working Group

Contact information

Thinthin Aye
Thinthin.Aye@wfp.org

John Nelson
jnelson@mercycorps.org

Occupied Palestinian Territory (or oPt) Cash Working Group

National Cash Coordinator : Luca Sangalli
Contact: lsangalli@pt.acfspain.org

Gaza Cash Coordinator: Jessa Serna
Contact: jessa.serna@un.org

Click the link below for more information

Pakistan Cash Working Group

Contact information

 

Additional information

Philippines Cash Working Group

Contact information

Maria Agnes Palacio: palacio@un.org,

Additional information

Peru

Yara Romariz Maasri, Co-lead:
maasri@unhcr.org

Yoann Tuzzolino, Co-lead:
yoann.tuzzolino@wfp.org

 

Poland

Romania

Slovakia CWG

Led by Social Policy Department

co-lead by Ms. Elizabeth Barnhart BARNHART@unhcr.org

South Sudan

South Sudan Cash Working Group:

Co-lead David Thomas WFP david.thomas@wfp.org
CWG Coordinator Mary Karanja IOM mkaranja@iom.int
Co-Lead Asar UL Haq SNFI Unit mulhaq@iom.int

 

Sudan

Sudan Cash Working Group

Coordinator Nathalie Klein WFP nathalie.klein@wfp.org
Ali Khazedar NRC ali.khazendar@wfp.org
Zhou Tinomuzivashi Plan International Tinomuzivashi.zhou@plan-international.org

Syria Cash Working Group

Syria – Whole of Syria

CWG Advisor: Fe Kagahastian
Contact: cashcap.syria@gmail.com

Syria – Damascus based

CWG Lead: Mohamad MARJI
Contact: mohamad.marji@wfp.org

CWG Co-Lead:Johannes Sahmland Bowling
Contact: jsahmland@caritas.ch

CWG Advisor: Mareike Tobiasen

Syria – NWS

CWG Lead: Bindal Guner
Contact: bindal.guner@care.org

 

 

Click the link below for more information

Turkey Basic Needs Working Group

CWG Lead: Ahmet Unver
Contact: unver@unhcr.org

 

Click the link below for more information

Uganda

Uganda Cash Working Group

Coordinator Stephan Deutscher WFP stephan.deutscher@wfp.org
Cash Based Interventions Associate Monther Alaff UNHCR alaff@unhcr.org
Coordinator Eunice Mwende WFP eunice.mwende@wfp.org

Ukraine

Nataliya Chervinska, nataliya.chervinska@acted.org

Paul de Carvalho-Pointillartpointillart@un.org

Barbara Lesenibarbara.leseni@nrc.no

Ukraine Regional Cash Working Group - Refugee Situation

Vietnam Cash Working Group

Contact information

Van Nguyen
van.Nguyen@ifrc.org

Thaianh Nguyen
thaianh.Nguyen@fao.org

Yemen Cash Working Group

CWG Advisor: Rabeea Ahmed
Contact: rabeea.ahmed@un.org

CWG Co-Lead: Abdulrazzaq Saleh
Contact: abdulrazzaq.saleh@un.org

Click the link below for more information

Zimbabwe

The co-chairs of the Zimbabwe Cash Working Group are Debbie Gourlay, debbie.gourlay@wfp.org and Abel Whande, abelwh@carezimbabwe.org

Co-Chair
Andreas Deuble,WFP
andreas.deuble@wfp.org

Co-Chair
Clayton Mafuratidze, CARE
ClaytonMa@carezimbabwe.org