Skip to content

The State of the World's Cash 2023

We are sorry but the page you are looking for is not available in the language you have selected, please go to the corresponding homepage
  1. Home
  2. Community

Cash Working Groups

A directory of cash working groups from around the globe organised by region.

A Cash Working Group (or Basic Needs Working Group in some responses) is a forum which facilitates the coordination of cash and voucher assistance within a humanitarian response. Functions of Cash Working Groups (CWGs) can include coordinating on issues such as transfer values, targeting, delivery mechanisms, MEB development, and harmonizing tools and guidance. CWGs might be established at both national and regional levels depending on the scope and scale of a response.

Cash Working Group – Regional/Global Focus

US & Canada Community of Practice

US & Canada

Holly Radice, holly.radice@calpnetwork.org

Cash Working Group-R4V

Web page: https://www.r4v.info/

Contact: cbi.rwg@gmail.com

Frequently asked questions

 

Latin America and the Caribbean CWG Leads’ meetings

Actas de reunión de líderes de GTM de las Américas

The regional CWG Leads meet every two months to share updates and discuss common thematic issues. (Invitation only)

 

Asia-Pacific Regional Cash Working Group

The Asia-Pacific Regional Cash Working Group is supported by a co-chairing arrangement between WFP, IFRC and OCHA.

Contact information:

RCWG Coordinator: Vlad Cozma, WFP/ CashCap
vlad.cozma@wfp.org

Co-Chair: Daniel Gilman, OCHA
gilmand@un.org

Co-Chair: Barbara Pfister, WFP
barbara.pfister@wfp.org

Riyadh Sidat, OCHA
riyadh.sidat@un.org

Additional information

East Africa Regional Cash Working Group

The Chair is Sapenzie Ojiambo, CALP Network: sapenzie.ojiambo@calpnetwork.org.

The Co-chair is Zhou, Tinomuzivashi, Plan International: Tinomuzivashi.zhou@plan-international.org

 

Global Cash Working Group

The Global Cash Working Group (GCWG) is a platform for actors to collaborate and address key issues related to cash and voucher assistance (CVA). The GCWG seeks to link global cash initiatives and actors more systematically with evidence from and best practice in the field and the broader humanitarian system. 

MENA Regional Technical Forum

  • The platform focuses on sharing information and other key developments, including pieces of work and learnings from the MENA region.
  • In addition, three communities of practice focused on locally-led responses, MPCA, and social protection linkages convene online to share learnings and develop common tools, or guidance notes.

Pacific Regional Cash Working Group (PRCWG)

The PRCWG seeks to strengthen collaboration on CVA in both disaster preparedness and response, as well as financial access & inclusion, social protection and other economic inclusion and/or market-based programming involving the transfer of cash or voucher payments to households.

RCWG Coordinator: Ali Mansoor, WFP/ CashCap
ali.mansoor@wfp.org

Co-Chair:  Rahul Mitra, Oxfam
rmitra@oxfampacific.org

Co-Chair: Philippe Martins, philippe.martins@wfp.org

Nashruddin Modin, nashrudin.modin@savethechildren.org.au

 

Website: https://www.humanitarianresponse.info/en/operations/pacific-region/pacific-regional-cash-working-group-prcwg

West and Central Africa Regional Cash Working Group

Contacts

All the WCAF regional Cash Working Group minutes and recordings are available here

Cash Working Group – Country Focus

Afghanistan

Contact information:

Hassan Hussein CWG Coordinator hassan.hussein@wfp.org
Amiry Qudratullah Co-Chair qudratullah.amiry@rescue.org

Additional information

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Contact information:

Secretariat: Red Cross Society of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contact Person: Azra Bričić, azra@rcsbh.org

Brazil

Burkina Faso

Contacts

Alpha Keita
(Co-lead, WFP )
E-mail: alpha.keita@wfp.org

Sarata J. Estelle KABORE
(Co-lead, CRS)
E-mail: sarata.kabore@crs.org

Dan Aoude Sani (Co-lead, OCHA)

E-mail : sani.elhadjidanaoude@un.org

Burundi

Position/Role Name Organization Email
Co-lead Saadia Yahouza Iro Kode UNOCHA yahouzairo@un.org
Co-Lead Arcade NIMUBONA Government sep.arcade@gmail.com
Co-lead Robert OKIROR WFP robert.okiror@wfp.org

Central African Republic

Serge Arnaud Beremwoudougou WFP serge.beremwoudougou@wfp.org
Valerie Van Zutphen CONCERN Valerie.Zutphen@concern.net
Noelia Natalia Blascovich OCHA noelia.blascovich@un.org
Ndo-Neting Zaboua Sogboua OCHA zabouasogboua@un.org
Eric Stephane Koie Kouassi OCHA koiekouassi@un.org

Chad

Contacts

Co-chair programmatique (OXFAM)

Hadaogo Yougbare

hadaogo.yougbare@oxfam.org

Co-chair non-programmatique (OCHA)

Djibrine Hassane

djibrine.hassane@un.org

 

Colombia

Contacts

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Contacts

Co-chair non-programmatique (OCHA)

Rickain Kalanda Lubo

kalanda@un.org

Dominican Republic

Ecuador

 

Egypt

Contacts:

Click the link below for more information.

El Salvador

Henry Montano, Lead:
henry.montano@wfp.org

Cristina Galvez, Lead:
cristina.galvez@wfp.org

Brenda Liliana de Cid, Co-lead:
brenda.delcid@savethechildren.org

Ludin Chavez, Co-lead
Ludin.Chavez@savethechildren.org

 

Eswatini

Co-chairs Danger Nhlabatsi Red Cross dnhlabatsi@redcross.org.sz
Bheki Ginindza WFP bheki.ginindza@wfp.org
Victor Mahlalela NDMA victor@ndma.org.sz
Zakhele Dlamini WVI zakhele_dlamini@wvi.org

Ethiopia

Coordinator(Secretary) Tawil Ahmed Adel IOM atawil@iom.int
Coordination support lead Nurhussen Feki Ethiopia CWG coordination_support@ethiopia-cwg.org>
Technical Co-Chair Mitiku, Masresha Plan International Masresha.Mitiku@plan-international.org
Technical Co-Chair Samson Muradzikwa UNICEF smuradzikwa@unicef.org

Fiji

Contact Information:

Katerina Sefeti Co-Chair katerina.sefeti@wfp.org
Rika Mitsuhashi rika.mitsuhashi@wfp.org
Razia Bi rbi@mwcpa.gov.fj

 

Germany

Anita Auerbach, German Red Cross: A.Auerbach@drk.de

Frederick Orimba, German Red Cross, F.Orimba@drk.de

Lukas Frucht, German Federal Foreign Office: s08-6@auswaertiges-amt.de

 

Greece

Click the link below for more information.

Guatemala

Honduras

Indonesia

Contact Information:

Titi Moektijashi Co-Chair moektijasih@un.org
Hestin Klass Co-Chair hestin_klass@wvi.org

Website:

https://www.humanitarianresponse.info/en/operations/indonesia/cash-working-group

Iraq

ICF Lead: Darias Sanyatwe
Contact: bayayi.sanyatwe@wfp.org

ICF Co-lead: Yhen Veso
Contact: yhen_veso@wvi.org

Click the link below for more information

 

Jordan

Contacts

Click the link below for more information

Kenya

CWG Co lead Peter Murgor Kenya Red cross murgor.peter@redcross.or.ke
CWG Chair Girma Government-NDMA hussein.jirma@ndma.go.ke

Kyrgyzstan

Contact information

Stephen Abaka Coordinator/ Technical Advisor stephen.abaka@wfp.org
Rysbek uulu Beikut Co-Chair b.rysbekuulu@redcrescent.kg

Lao PDR

Contact information:

Dale Wilson CWG Coordinator dale.wilson@wfp.org

 

Lebanon

BAWG co-chair: Sonia Ben Salem sbensalem@lb.acfspain.org

BAWG Coordinator: Hadi Haddad: haddadh@unhcr.org

Click the link below for more information

Libya

CWG Lead: Mauro Clerici

Contact: clericim@unhcr.org

Economist: Safwan Khan

Contact: khansaf@unhcr.org

Senior CBI Assistant: Rami Mohamed

Contact: mohamera@unhcr.org

Libya Cash Working Group is based in Tunisia.

Click the link below for more information

Madagascar

Co-Lead-Partner Level Irenee Arimanana Ravelojaona UNICEF iravelojaona@unicef.org
Lead-Government level Dr RIVOMANANA Tsarahita Ghisbert Government-Madagascar ghisbert.dgps@gmail.com
Co-lead-Government level Colonel Aritiana Faly Fabien Government-Madagascar aritiana23@yahoo.fr

Malawi

Co-Chair Mathias FUNSANANI WFP mathias.funsanani@wfp.org
Co-Chair Steve Kamtimaleka WFP steve.kamtimaleka@savethechildren.org

Mauritania

Contacts

 

Nouakchott Fatimetou LAHWERTHI PAM fatimetou.lahwerthi@wfp.org
Moulaye Hassen Zeidane MEF moulayehz@gmail.com

México

Moldova

Co-chair: Ministry of Labour and Social Protection

Hanna Mattinen, mattinen@unhcr.org.

Mongolia

Contact Information:

Suvdaa Bold Co Chair suvd.bold@un.org

 

 

Mozambique

The co-chairs are Chiara Dara, WFP, chiara.dara@wfp.org (and Sanna Juntunen, WFP, sanna.juntunen@wfp.org, until August 2021) and Angelo Pontes, World Vision, angelo_pontes@wvi.org.

Myanmar

Contact information:

John Nelson Co – Lead jnelson@mercycorps.org
Myo Thida Swe Co-chair myo.thidaswe@un.org
Ria Lewis Co-Chair ria.lewis@wfp.org

 

Nepal

Contact information:

Safiq Iraqi Cash Coordination Group siraqi@unicef.org
Santosh Dahal Co-Lead santosh.dahal@plan-international.org
Thakur Dhakal Co-Lead tdhakal@unicef.org

Nepal CCG website: https://response.reliefweb.int/asia-and-pacific/regional-cash-working-group/nepal-cwg

Occupied Palestinian Territory (or oPt)

National Cash Coordinator : Luca Sangalli
Contact: lsangalli@pt.acfspain.org

Gaza Cash Coordinator: Ahmad Abu Shammaleh
Contact: abushammaleha@un.org)

Click the link below for more information.

Pakistan

Contact information:

Chair: WFP: Sarah Torbey    sara.torbey@wfp.org

Co-Chair: FAO: Raja Jahangee raja.jahangeer@fao.org

Papua New Guinea

Contact Information:

Lindsay Lambi lindsay.lambi@undp.org
Hudson Tabara hudson.tabara@undp.org
Isimel Tuembe isimel.tuembe@savethechildren.org.au

 

Philippines

Contact information:

Mikolaj Radlicki CWG Coordinator mikolaj.radlicki@un.org
Jurgen Mika Co Chair jurgen.mika@wfp.org
Ellaine Luzada Co-Chair ellaine.luzada@redcross.org.ph

Additional Information:

Peru

 

Poland

Romania

Rwanda

Rwanda Co-Llead Michael Ajwang UNHCR ajwang@unhcr.org

Slovakia

Led by Social Policy Department

co-lead by Ms. Elizabeth Barnhart BARNHART@unhcr.org

Solomon Islands

Contact Information

Iris Parisuri irisp@oxfam.org.au
Joshua Wore joshua.wore@savethechildren.org.au

 

South Sudan

South Sudan Cash Working Group

 

 Coordinator Muhammad Usman IOM umuhammad@iom.int
Co-Chair Ibrahim Babatunde Garba IOM babibrahim@iom.int
Co-Leads Itai Madzivaidze IRC Itai.Madzivaidze@rescue.org
Rebecca Nyamori Mercy Corps rnyamori@mercycorps.org

 

 

 

Sudan

Contact information:

Sudan Cash Working Group

CWG Coordinator Agustine Orengo OCHA orengo@un.org

Syria

Damascus CWG:

CWG chair: Mourad Khawaja
Contact: mkhawaja@caritas.ch

CWG co-chair: Andreas Deuble
Contact: andreas.deuble@wfp.org

NWS CWG:

CWG co-lead: Bihter Moschini
Contact: cbr.twg@gmail.com

NES CWG:

CWG lead: Mohammad Al-Turk
Contact: cashcoordnes@gmail.com

CWG co-lead: Zuhair Hassoun
Contact: cashdeputycoordnes@gmail.com

CWG co-lead: Halil Ali halil.ali@peopleinneed.net

Tajikistan

Contact information:

Stephen Abaka Coordinator/ Technical Advisor stephen.abaka@wfp.org
Bikash Paudel Co-Chair bikash.paudel@wfp.org
Soomro Nangar Co-Chair nsoomro@unicef.org

Timor Leste

Contact Information:

Widya Setiabudi Co-Chair widya_setiabudi@wvi.org
Ali Ahmad Khan Chair aliahmad.khan@wfp.org
Elena Conte elena.conte@wfp.org
Paulo Belo paulo.belo@crs.org

 

Togo

Tonga (Community of Practice)

Contact Information:

Sini Latu deputysg@tongaredcross.to
Rahul Mitra rmitra@oxfampacific.org

Türkiye

CWG Lead: Ahmet Unver
Contact: unver@unhcr.org

CWG co-lead: Ali Mansour
Contact: ali.mansoor@kizilay.org.tr

Click the link below for more information

Uganda

Uganda Cash Working Group

Co-Lead Stephen Adeun UNHCR adeun@unhcr.org

Ukraine

Paul de Carvalho-Pointillart –  pointillart@un.org

Marga Ledomarga.ledo@nrc.no

Mustafa Hadeedmhadeed@iom.int

Ukraine - Refugee Situation

Vanuatu

Contact Information

Kalua Selura kaluas@oxfam.org.au

 

Venezuela

Vietnam

Contact information:

Thaianh Nguyen CWG Lead thaianh.nguyen@fao.org

 

Yemen

CMWG Adviser: Cecilia Chawatama
Contact: cecillia.chawatama@un.org

CMWG co-chair: Maysa Ibrahim
Contact: maysibrahim@iom.int

Click the link below for more information

Zimbabwe

Co-Chair Clayton Mafuratidze CARE ClaytonMa@carezimbabwe.org
Albert MURAISA WFP albert.muraisa@wfp.org

Co-Chair
Andreas Deuble,WFP
andreas.deuble@wfp.org

Co-Chair
Clayton Mafuratidze, CARE
ClaytonMa@carezimbabwe.org

The State of the World's Cash 2023

Read the report now