Skip to content
We are sorry but the page you are looking for is not available in the language you have selected, please go to the corresponding homepage
  1. Events
Webinar

Community Call: Data Incident Management in CVA

Moving away from a walled garden towards a community garden approach.

22 September 2020

You are invited to a community call hosted by CaLP organised under the Responsible Data in Cash and Voucher Assistance initiative. 

Tuesday 22nd of September, 2pm London/3 pm Geneva/4 pm Nairobi

Although awareness about the need for responsible data management is at an all-time high, there is still insufficient understanding in the humanitarian sector about the impacts of data breaches on vulnerable individuals and groups. The sector, including organizations implementing Cash and Voucher programming, is unclear about legal and ethical obligations to report on data breaches to authorities; partners; donor agencies; and, most importantly, those impacted by breaches. To help address this, CaLP in collaboration with Linda Raftree recently conducted some 35 interviews with member organizations to explore options for a collaborative approach to data incident management. Interviews surfaced a number of challenges to overcome as well as some ideas for how the CaLP network can develop a more transparent and open culture around critical data incidents. This call is the first opportunity to share what has emerged from our research to date, to test out a Theory of Change around data incident sharing and begin to articulate potential paths that the CVA community might use to move away from the current “walled garden” approach to data incident management. 

Speakers

    • Amos Doornbos, World Vision Disaster Management Systems Director
    • Stuart Campo, OCHA HDX 

Moderators: Anna Kondakhchyan, CaLP and Linda Raftree, Independent Consultant